This website uses cookies to help us make your user experience better. To find out more, see our privacy policy.

Looking for Self Catering around Rye Harbour?

Sandunes Two … find out more

Rye Harbour Nature Reserve

Rye Harbour Nature Reserve in Rye Harbour, East Sussex

Rye Harbour Nature Reserve
  • Rye Harbour Nature Reserve
  • Rye Harbour Nature Reserve
  • Rye Harbour Nature Reserve
  • Rye Harbour Nature Reserve
  • Rye Harbour Nature Reserve
Rye Harbour Road
Rye Harbour
East Sussex
TN31 7TU
01797 227 784
wildrye.infoVisit Website
Send E-Mail
Marvellous Moths
Wednesday, 27th July 2016, 10:00am - 11:00am
Walk with a Warden
Sunday, 31st July 2016, 10:00am - noon
Collect and Create Seaside Mobiles
Tuesday, 2nd August 2016, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Minibeasts
Wednesday, 3rd August 2016, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Castle Water Safari
Thursday, 4th August 2016, 2:00pm - 4:30pm
Moth Morning
Sunday, 7th August 2016, 10:00am - 11:00am
Moth Evening
Sunday, 14th August 2016, 8:30pm - 10:30pm
Shrimping
Monday, 15th August 2016, 2:30pm - 4:00pm
Collect and Create Dreamcatchers
Thursday, 18th August 2016, 11:00am - midnight
Mud, Mud Glorious Mud
Tuesday, 23rd August 2016, 10:00am - 11:00am
Nature Treasure Trail
Wednesday, 24th August 2016, 11:00am - noon
Walk with a Warden
Sunday, 28th August 2016, 2:00pm - 4:30pm
Bramble Ramble
Saturday, 3rd September 2016, 10:00am - noon
Castle Water Wildlife Walk
Sunday, 11th September 2016, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Walk with a Warden
Sunday, 25th September 2016, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Walk with a Warden
Sunday, 9th October 2016, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Make a Minibeast Home
Tuesday, 25th October 2016, 10:00am - noon
Collect and Create Plant Pots
Thursday, 27th October 2016, 10:00am - 11:00am
Walk with a Warden
Sunday, 6th November 2016, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Festive Beach Clean Up
Saturday, 3rd December 2016, 10:00am - 1:00pm

The Rye Harbour Nature Reserve is approximately 1.4 miles south east of Rye, signposted off the A259. There is a free car park at Rye Harbour. There is a network of foot paths that allow the reserve to be visited from Rye and Winchelsea on foot. Within the reserve there are five hides (with wheelchair access) giving the visitor wonderful views of the wetland wildlife. The Reserve has many habitats which include wetlands, shingle ridges, sand, marsh and woodland. This is home to a wide range of species, a hundred and fifty of which are considered rare or endangered in Britain. The information centre at Lime Kiln Cottage is open most days from 10am - 4pm. The reserve has many special events throughout the year which are free but donations are appreciated.


Event

What's On in Rye Harbour?

  • The Carry on Boys

    Sunday 24th July
    Location: Icklesham

    Acoustic folk, blues, country, jazz, ska and original songs. '... les trois anglais sont magnifiques ...' 'a dashed fine afternoon ... more

  • Marvellous Moths

    Wednesday 27th July @ 10:00am
    Location: Rye Harbour

    Bring the family to learn about the moths that fly around the reserve at night and look at the moths ... more

  • Camber Kite Week

    Wednesday 27th July for 5 days @ noon
    Location: Camber

    KITE WEEK 2016 27-31 July In the same idyllic location as last year, on a farm, surrounded by woods and ... more

  • Jazz Supper

    Thursday 28th July @ 7:00pm
    Location: Rye

    The Mardi Gras Jazz Band make a welcome return to The Mermaid for another great evening of swinging jazz that ... more

  • Rye Country Market

    Friday 29th July @ 10:00am
    Location: Rye

    Rye Country Market sells local produce which includes: Cakes, Preserves, Savouries, Free Range Eggs, Seasonal Vegetables and Fruit, Unusual Plants, ... more

  • Slam

    Friday 29th July @ 9:30pm
    Location: Rye

    Slam playing at Wipers. Please check website for updates as music listing may be subject to change. ... more

  • Wild Woodland Weekend Club

    Saturday 30th July @ 10:00am
    Location: Beckley

    The monthly outdoor club where children aged 6-11 can explore, play and learn in the woods with campfires, mud, dens ... more

  • Rye Society of Artists Summer Exhibition

    Saturday 30th July for 23 days @ 10:30am
    Location: Rye

    Rye Society of Artists 65th Summer Exhibition 2016 ... more

  • Walk and Talk - A Guided Tour

    Saturday 30th July @ 11:00am
    Location: Rye

    David Hopkins takes you on a historical tour of Rye - Tudor boom, bust and plague, 18th century smuggling, the ... more

  • Rye Film Club presents John Izod's Misfortune

    Saturday 30th July
    Location: Rye

    If you had the good fortune to know John Izod you may not know that he starred in a 1988 ... more

Message

Rye Harbour Message Board