This website uses cookies to help us make your user experience better. To find out more, see our privacy policy.

Looking for a Holiday Cottage around Rye Harbour?

Spring Cottage … find out more

Rye Harbour Nature Reserve

Rye Harbour Nature Reserve in Rye Harbour, East Sussex

Rye Harbour Nature Reserve
  • Rye Harbour Nature Reserve
  • Rye Harbour Nature Reserve
  • Rye Harbour Nature Reserve
  • Rye Harbour Nature Reserve
  • Rye Harbour Nature Reserve
Rye Harbour Road
Rye Harbour
East Sussex
TN31 7TU
01797 227 784
wildrye.infoVisit Website
Send E-Mail
Import to your address book ...
Feed the Birds
Wednesday, 15th February 2017, 10:00am - noon
Castle Water Wildlife Walk
Sunday, 19th February 2017, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Walk with a Warden
Sunday, 5th March 2017, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Spring Beach Clean
Saturday, 25th March 2017, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Wildlife Watch - Rye Harbour
Saturday, 1st April 2017, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Minibeast Hunt
Wednesday, 5th April 2017, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
The Great Eggcase Hunt
Tuesday, 11th April 2017, 10:00am - noon
Make a Minibeast Home
Thursday, 13th April 2017, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Walk with a Warden
Sunday, 16th April 2017, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Castle Water Wildlife Walk
Saturday, 22nd April 2017, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Wildlife Watch - Rye Harbour
Saturday, 6th May 2017, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Wader Watch
Sunday, 7th May 2017, 4:30am - 8:00am
1066 Walking Festival - Castle Water Wildlife Walk
Saturday, 13th May 2017, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
An Introduction to Rye Habour - Part 1
Saturday, 20th May 2017, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Coastal Plants
Saturday, 27th May 2017, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Brilliant Birds
Tuesday, 30th May 2017, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Go Bug Hunting
Wednesday, 31st May 2017, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Go Bug Hunting
Wednesday, 31st May 2017, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Rockpool Ramble
Thursday, 1st June 2017, 10:30am - 11:30am
Wildlife Watch - Rye Harbour
Saturday, 3rd June 2017, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Beginner's Birds
Saturday, 10th June 2017, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Spectacular Spiders
Sunday, 11th June 2017, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
An Introduction to Rye Habour - Part 2
Saturday, 17th June 2017, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Walk with the Warden
Sunday, 18th June 2017, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Moth Morning
Sunday, 25th June 2017, 10:00am - 11:00am
Wildlife Watch - Rye Harbour
Saturday, 1st July 2017, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Rye Harbour's Special Flowers
Sunday, 16th July 2017, 9:00am - noon
Marvellous Moths
Wednesday, 26th July 2017, 10:00am - noon
Wildlife Watch - Rye Harbour
Saturday, 5th August 2017, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Wildlife Watch - Rye Harbour
Saturday, 2nd September 2017, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Wildlife Watch - Rye Harbour
Saturday, 7th October 2017, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Walk with the Warden
Sunday, 8th October 2017, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Wildlife Watch - Rye Harbour
Saturday, 4th November 2017, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Walk with the Warden
Sunday, 5th November 2017, 10:00am - 12:30pm
Wildlife Watch - Rye Harbour
Saturday, 2nd December 2017, 10:00am - 12:30pm

The Rye Harbour Nature Reserve is approximately 1.4 miles south east of Rye, signposted off the A259. There is a free car park at Rye Harbour. There is a network of foot paths that allow the reserve to be visited from Rye and Winchelsea on foot. Within the reserve there are five hides (with wheelchair access) giving the visitor wonderful views of the wetland wildlife. The Reserve has many habitats which include wetlands, shingle ridges, sand, marsh and woodland. This is home to a wide range of species, a hundred and fifty of which are considered rare or endangered in Britain. The information centre at Lime Kiln Cottage is open most days from 10am - 4pm. The reserve has many special events throughout the year which are free but donations are appreciated.


Event

What's On in Rye Harbour?

  • Jazz Supper at the Mermaid

    Thursday 26th January @ 7:00pm
    Location: Rye

    The Tudor Room at the Mermaid opens at 7pm for Supper. Music from 8pm. Supper £25, Non - Diners £10 ... more

  • Hush Heath Wine Dinner

    Thursday 26th January @ 7:30pm
    Location: Peasmarsh

    Learn about, and taste different Hush Heath Estate Wines from the garden of England, while enjoying canapes and 3 courses ... more

  • On Land and Sea

    Friday 27th January
    Location: Iden

    As well as managing British Divers Marine Life Rescue (BDMLR) a marine mammal rescue charity and being a trustee of ... more

  • Chinese New Year

    Saturday 28th January
    Location: Rye

    Saturday 28th January is the new Chinese year of the rooster! A celebration will be held at the cinque ports ... more

  • Rye Networking Over Coffee

    Tuesday 31st January @ 10:00am
    Location: Rye

    Business networking event held in The Tudor Room. For more details go to the Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/185965121742782/ ... more

  • Antique and Collectables Sale

    Friday 3rd February
    Location: Rye

    Viewing for our Antique & Collectable Sale Thursday 2nd February 9.00am - 4.30pm. Auction day open from 8.30 sale commences ... more

  • Rye Bay Scallop and Seafood Hands-On Cookery Day

    Monday 6th February @ 9:15am
    Location: Rye

    Now in its twelfth year, celebrating the scallop and local seafood species. Prepare and eat a seven course luncheon enjoying ... more

  • Friend or Foe - The Herring Gull

    Friday 10th February
    Location: Iden

    Love them or hate them Richard Thompson, Mallydams Wood Wildlife Manager will be enlightening us about this, now red status, ... more

  • Feed the Birds

    Wednesday 15th February @ 10:00am
    Location: Rye Harbour

    Be prepared to get messy and have a go at making tasty treats and feeders for your garden birds. Suitable ... more

  • Green Drinks

    Wednesday 15th February
    Location: Rye

    Green Drinks’ is part of the social side of Transition Rye – we want the work we’re doing to be ... more

Message

Rye Harbour Message Board